Was Babar Azam angry at umpire during Pak vs SL Asia Cup match?


Pakistani skipper Babar Azam speaks to the referee during the Pakistan vs Sri Lanka match in Dubai, September 09, 2022. – Twitter / CricCrazyJohns

Despite Pakistan and Sri Lanka low score game ahead of the Asian Cup final, drama happened in 16th place in the second leg as the island nation was on its way to victory.

The referee had signaled a call from the DRS although Pakistani skipper Babar Azam did not request it.

Wicketkeeper Mohammad Rizwan made a loud call to be caught late on Hasan Ali’s first ball from the 16th over. The referee, however, did not relent and stood firm in his decision.

At that, Babar started walking towards the pitch to confirm whether there was an advantage or not.

But although Babar did not signal for the DRS, the ref called for it.

Obviously, Babar was not happy with it and told the referee“kaptaan main hu (I am the captain)” albeit with a smile on his face.

Pakistan suffered a five-wicket defeat at the hands of Sri Lanka just two days before the final against the same team – which was due to take place in Dubai.

Spinner Wanindu Hasaranga led Sri Lanka’s bowling charge to set up the comfortable on Pakistan.



Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.